Email List

To join our e-mail list, please enter your e-mail address. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Shows

Sections

Classifieds

Directories

Contact

Opinion, Letters To The Editor, Santa Monica

Do Residents Or Developers Own Santa Monica: Letter To The Editor

Posted Oct. 17, 2012, 2:27 am

Letter To The Editor

Dear Editor:

Three major developers are spending more than $100,000 to re-elect Terry O'Day and Gleam Davis to the City Council.

As the pop-up organization called "Santa Monicans United for a Responsible Future," they are flooding mailboxes with slick flyers for the two and "me-too" Shari Davis.

While the candidates claim they have no control of the efforts, why would the developers pay out such huge sums to keep them on the Council? Because, based on Terry and Gleam's past voting records and Shari's unquestioning support for the status quo, the developers are betting that down the road the three will vote to approve most or all of the 23 big development projects in the pipeline that will add millions of square feet and choke traffic in the city.

If you're happy with Santa Monica turning into a mini Manhattan, vote for the incumbents and Shari. If you want to preserve what remains of Santa Monica as a pleasant beach town, pick councilmembers who represent you, not developers.

Harriet P. Epstein

Santa Monica

Post a comment

Comments

Oct. 19, 2012, 4:54:29 am

peter betts said...

But which people re representing the people? Whom to vote for?

Oct. 17, 2012, 9:09:12 am

Armen Melkonians said...

Big Developers are not gamblers - if they were, they would take the SMURF money to Vegas - not to Santa Monica. The truth is that SMURF endorses candidates which they believe will benefit them big. They are willing to put big money where their big profits will be. NMS, our friendly ''out-of-neighborhood'' big developer, has given at least $100,000 to SMURF (as of October 1 ) to support Gleam Davis, Terry O'Day, Shari Davis, and Ted Winterer. NMS currently has 6 development projects waiting for approval at City Council - 486 new apartments - with 6, 7, and 8 story buildings. All 6 projects need approval from City Council because they defy zoning codes. Developers (NMS) are not gamblers and neither am I, but I will bet my bottom dollar that these 6 NMS projects get City Council approval if the SMURF supported candidates are successfully elected. My name is Armen Melkonians, and I am running for City Council. If elected, I will stop and reconsider all 23 Development Agreements currently on the planning commission case list. Our City Council should serve local residents - not big developers.

Oct. 17, 2012, 3:11:23 am

BF said...

Read the small print they have NO permission from the candidates to do this. they are also supporting Ted Winterer who definitely expresses his dislike of this mailing. This group flexes its muscle every year and reinvents itself with efferent names. just be aware to their stuff and read the small print

Oct. 17, 2012, 4:28:00 am

Ron Di Costanzo said...

The supposedly educated electorate in Santa Monica almost invariably votes for the glossy brochures - beats thinking, eh? As I've said before, they are too frequently like cattle - moooo. But boo to the Davis twins and O'Day.

Oct. 22, 2012, 11:22:35 am

Santa Monican said...

The SMCC candidates are a rogue's gallery. That Steve Duron guy failed the bar exam 5 times [not too sharp], O'Day and Gleam seem to be in the developer's pockets [there goes our little city] and Mann and McKinnon support the Santa Monica airport land grab by still more developers [more special interests].

Oct. 18, 2012, 3:10:33 am

mangeleno said...

Our current City Council has never met a development project that they didn't like. Mrs. Epstein is once again speaking out on behalf of those who want to live in SAMO, and not NYC. I, for one, plan to heed her mame-loshn

Oct. 29, 2012, 12:57:10 am

Joe Banks said...

We need to get rid of Gleam Davis and Terry O'Day along with preventing their clone Sheri Davis from getting a seat. They've taken thousands of dollars from Big Development. How can they guide the future of Santa Monica with the hand of Big Development in their backs? John Smith hasn't taken a dime from Big Development so he can vote on the future of Santa Monica with clean hands. Remember that name: JOHN SMITH.

Oct. 31, 2012, 10:20:41 am

Brittany said...

Well said, there is too much special interest in the pockets of developers in Santa Monica city council members. The ones that are asking for re-election should be tossed out. They don't care about street traffic issues and or parking for local residents. I say pick one good one and don't vote for four of them...just pick one.

SM Mirror TV