April 21, 2024 Breaking News, Latest News, and Videos

Los Angeles Film Critics Name Their 2005 Award Choices:

Brokeback Mountain was voted Best Picture of the Year by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association,  according to  the group’s presdent, Henry Sheehan.

The runner up was A History of Violence.

The association’s 31st annual achievement awards ceremony will be held Tuesday, January 17, at the Park Hyatt Hotel in Los Angeles.

Other award winners are:

Director: Ang Lee, Brokeback Mountain.

Runner-up: David Cronenberg, A History of Violence.

Actress: Vera Farmiga, Down to the Bone.

Runner-up: Judi Dench, Mrs. Henderson Presents

Actor: Phillip Seymour Hoffman, Capote.

Runner-up: Heath Ledger, Brokeback Mountain.

Screenplay: Tie – Capote by Dan Futterman and The Squid and the Whale by Noah Baumbach

Supporting Actress: Catherine Keener, Capote,  Ballad of Jack and Rose, The 40 Yea- Old Virgin and The Interpreter.

Runner-up: Amy Adams, Junebug.

Supporting Actor: William Hurt, A History of Violence.

Runner-up: Frank Langella, Good Night, And Good Luck.

Foreign Language Film: Cache, directed by Michael Haneke

Runner-up: 2046, directed by Wong Kar-Wai.

Documeentart Non-Fiction Film: Grizzly Man , directed by Werner Herzog.

Runner-up: Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room directed by Alex Gibney.

Preoduction Design: William Chang, 2046.

Runner-up: Jim Bissell, Good Night, And Good Luck.

Animation: Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit.

Music Score: Joe Hisaishi, Youmi Kimura, Howl’s Moving Castle.

Runner-up: Ryuichiu Sakamoto, Tony Takitani.

Cinematography: Robert Elswit, Good Night, And Good Luck.

Runner-up: Christopher Doyle, 2046.

New Generation: Terrence Howard.Special Citations: L.A. Times film critic Kevin Thomas for his contributions to film culture in Los Angeles, and eight disc DVD set: Unseen Cinema,, a collection of avant-garde, underground films from 1894-1941.

in Uncategorized
Related Posts