April 14, 2024 Breaking News, Latest News, and Videos

Independent Spirit Awards Are Saturday:

Once again, independent film makers will gather in a tent on the Santa Monica beach for the 20th annual IFP Independent Spirit Awards on Saturday afternoon, February 26.

Samuel L. Jackson will host this year’s edition, and Salma Hayek and Quentin Tarantino have been named Honorary Co-Chairs.

According to IFP chair Dawn Hudson, “Honorary chairs…are chosen because of their outstanding artistic achievement in film.”

Among those presenting awards this year, in addition to Hayek and Tarantino, are Javier Bardem, Selma Blair, Patricia Clarkson, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Laura Linney, Ewan McGregor, Michael McKean, Robin Wright Penn, Robin Williams and Elijah Wood.

“Queer Eye for the Straight Guy’s” Carson Kressley will host a pre-awards show that will air on IFC (cable channel 142) at 2 p.m. Saturday, and the ceremonies will run on IFC at 7 p.m. and repeat at 11 p.m. An edited version will run on Bravo (cable channel 49) at 10 p.m., following the pre-awards show.

Awards are given in the following categories: Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best First Screenplay, Best Director, Best Screenplay, John Cassavetes Award (given to the best feature made for a budget under $500,000), Best Male Lead, Best Female Lead, Best Supporting Male, Best Supporting Female, Best Debut Performance, Best Cinematography, Best Foreign Film, and Best Documentary.

IFP/Los Angeles is the largest non-profit organization dedicated to supporting independent filmmakers and increasing the audience for independent film.

in Uncategorized
Related Posts