April 14, 2024 Breaking News, Latest News, and Videos

2006 Independent Spirit Award Nominations Are Announced:

The 2006 Independent Spirit Award nominations, the first major nominations of the awards season, were announced late last week.

The winners will be announced at ceremonies in a tent on Santa Monica Beach on Sunday, March 4.

Serving on the nominating committee were Film Independent Executive Director Dawn Hudson; actors Julie Delpy, Judah Friedlander, Eric Stoltz and Lili Taylor; Los Angeles Times film critic Kenneth Turan, producers Gail Mutrux and Bingham Ray, directors Sherman Alexie, Victor Nunez, and Angela Robinson; writers Christopher McQuarrie, Larry Gross, and John Ridley, film editors Lynzee Klingman and Sally Menke, casting directors Aisha Coley and Mali Finn, and cinematographers Fred Elmes and Laszlo Kovacs.

The nominees are:


Brokeback Mountain, Producers Diana Ossana and James Schamus.

Capote, Producers Caroline Baron, William Vince, Michael Ohoven.

Good Night, and Good Luck, Producer Grant Heslov.

The Squid and the Whale, Producers Wes Anderson, Peter Newman, Charles Corwin, Chris Markowicz.

The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada Producers Michael Fitzgerald, Tommy Lee Jones.


Ang Lee, Brokeback Mountain

George Clooney, Good Night, and Good Luck

Gregg Araki, Mysterious Skin

Rodrigo García, Nine Lives

Noah Baumbach, The Squid and the Whale


Crash, Director Paul Haggis. Producers Cathy Schulman, Don Cheadle, Bob Yari, Mark R. Harris, Bobby Moresco, Paul Haggis.

Lackawanna Blues, Director George C. Wolfe. Producer Nellie Nugiel.

Me and You and Everyone We Know , Director Miranda July. Producer Gina Kwon.

Thumbsucker , Director Mike Mills. Producers Anthony Bregman, Bob Stephenson.

Transamerica, Director Duncan Tucker. Producers Rene Bastian, Sebastian Dungan, Linda Moran.


(best feature made for under $500,000);

Brick , Director/Writer Rian Johnson. Producers Ram Bergman and Mark G. Mathis.

Conventioneers, Director Mora Stephens. Producer Joel Vierter. Writers Mora Stephens and Joel Viertel.

Jellysmoke, Director/Writer/Producer Mark Banning.

The Puffy Chair, Director Jay Duplass. Producer Mark Duplass, Writers Mark Duplass and Jay Duplass.

Room, Director/Writer Kyle Henry. Producers Allen Bain, Darren Goldberg, Jesse Scolaro.


Ayad Akhtar, Joseph Castelo, Tom Glynn, The War Within

Guillermo Arriaga, The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada

Noah Baumbach, The Squid and the Whale

Dan Futterman, Capote

Rodrigo García, Nine Lives


Kenneth Hanes, Fixing Frank

Miranda July, Me and You and Everyone We Know

Angus MacLachlan, Junebug

Sabina Murray, The Beautiful Country

Duncan Tucker, Transamerica


Amy Adams, Junebug

Maggie Gyllenhaal , Happy Endings

Allison Janney, Our Very Own

Michelle Williams, Brokeback Mountain

Robin Wright Penn, Nine Lives


Firdous Bamji, The War Within

Matt Dillon, Crash

Jesse Eisenberg, The Squid and the Whale

Barry Pepper, The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada

Jeffrey Wright, Broken Flowers


Felicity Huffman, Transamerica

Dina Korzun, Forty Shades of Blue

Laura Linney, The Squid and the Whale

S. Epatha Merkerson, Lackawanna Blues

Cyndi Williams, Room


Jeff Daniels, The Squid and the Whale

Philip Seymour Hoffman, Capote

Terrence Howard, Hustle & Flow

Heath Ledger, Brokeback Mountain

David Strathairn, Good Night, and Good Luck


Robert Elswit, Good Night, and Good Luck

John Foster, Keane

Adam Kimmel, Capote

Chris Menges, The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada

Harris Savides, Last Days

BEST FOREIGN FILM (Award given to the Director)

The Death of Mr. Lazarescu (Romania) Director, Cristi Puiu.

Duck Season, (Mexico) Director Fernando Eimbcke.

Head-On (Germany/Turkey) Director: Fatih Akin.

Paradise Now (Palestine/Netherlands/Germany/France) Director Hany Abu-Assad.

Tony Takitani (Japan), Director Jun Ichikawa

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the Director)

Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room, Director Alex Gibney.

Grizzly Man, Director Werner Herzog.

La Sierra, Directors Scott Dalton, Margarita Martinez.

Romántico , Director, Mark Becker

Sir! No Sir! Director, David Zeiger

in Uncategorized
Related Posts