July 16, 2024 Breaking News, Latest News, and Videos

SMC Plans Reunion of 1958 Football Champs:

Santa Monica College is organizing a 50th anniversary reunion of its 1958 football team that went undefeated and won the Junior Rose Bowl game.

 That season the Corsairs drew sellout crowds throughout their schedule and defeated Northeastern Oklahoma A&M in the Junior Rose Bowl game before a crowd of 50,000.

“The Junior Rose Bowl championship was a historic and exciting time for the college,” said Rhonda Hyatt, SMC’s present athletic director. “We want to celebrate this milestone in our history and hope to reach as many players on that extraordinary team as we can.”

 Anyone with information on players’ whereabouts is asked to call the SMC Athletics Department at (310) 434-4311 or visit the website at www.smc.edu/athletics.

 Jim Powers was the head coach. The assistant coaches were John Joseph and Carl Mulleneaux.

 The quarterback was Pat Young, who later became SMC’s head coach.

 Team members were Marv Marinovich, Larry Longo, Frank Miyoshi, Lloyd Winston, Joe Krolin, Bernie Coffee, Pete Barbarito, Doug Dufey, Dale Simbro, Jack Silas, Jim Van Aken, Bob Fieldhouse, James Epstein, George Pierovich-Jackson, Henry Maxim, Tom Flusty, Ivory Jones,  Jay Henry, Jim Meyer, Larry Dinovitz, Mike Arntz, Dick Olson, Larry Phillis, Tom Learnihan, Bill O’Brien, Monte Meyers, Steve Hoy, Al Dellinger, Bob Sweet, Bob Harris, Tom Gutman, Bill Straight, Vince Guercio, Charles Wade, Dave Washington, Dave Wright, Myles Sahlgren, Dave Dillon, Lou Cambra, Gary Engleken, Don Collis, Tony Chickney, Dennis Montoya, Lon Csdis, John Franco, Paul Thompson and Daryl Hall.

in Uncategorized
Related Posts